The Second Time Around

I still love the words Gil asked after he proposed to me… “Can we have a marriage & not a wedding?” And that, my friends, is what we had that beautiful first day of May in 2012…

Morning Story and Dilbert

Morning Story and Dilbert Vintage Dilbert
May 18, 1998

I lay in my hospital bed, eyes filled with tears as I stared longingly at the crisp October sky. This was my long-awaited wedding day. But I wouldn’t be strolling down the aisle in my white satin gown as planned.

I dated Yates for six years, during high school and part of college. We were the proverbial high-school sweethearts. He was my first love and I his. Young and naive, we discovered we each had dreams that required pursuits down different paths. So, we choose to part ways.

For a decade, Yates and I lived separate lives, with different geographies and different experiences. Several failed relationships and many mistakes later, we each discovered an unexplainable void within our lives and within ourselves.

After almost ten years of no contact, Yates reached me through my mother. We reunited and immediately realized what we had been missing…

View original post 445 more words

Leave a Reply

