OH FUDGE!!!

Alrighty.  Here is my not-so-closely-guarded recipe (a.k.a. science experiment) for my homemade fudge.  It is so unbelievably easy to make and you can do it on a whim.  I’ve actually been known to get up in the middle of the night to stir up a quick batch, pop it in the fridge and then go back to bed… having sweet dreams & a great breakfast.  Not really cause I don’t honestly enjoy eating chocolates… there’s a story behind that but not right now.  It has to do with chemotherapy.  Yuck.

So here you have it:

1/4 cup of BUTTER (it HAS to be butter… no substitutes)

3 cups of whatever chocolate you have on hand.  (I keep a large jar on my shelf and throw leftover semi-sweet chocolate bits, pieces of candy bars, Hershey Kisses, etc. into the jar.)

1 can of sweetened condensed milk (or use the recipe I have for homemade s.c.m. which I can give to you if you want it.  IF I can find the recipe, that is.)

Mix all of this in a 2 quart Pyrex mixing bowl and stir it up a little bit.

Pop it into the microwave for 3-5 minutes at 50% power; stirring at some point just to mix things up a bit.

When you pull it out of the microwave at the end, this is when the heavenly part starts.  You stir in 1 tsp. of the very best vanilla you can find.  (We bought ours in Mexico whilst we were on a cruise last year.) Madagascar vanilla is the best! Then stir and stir and stir until the mushy mess turns from this disastrous looking crap into a silky & smooth & glossy creation. fudge

If you should choose to add in things such as nuts, marshmallows, brickle, whatever.. this would be the time to do that.  I add about a cup of whatever I wish to add but you can do whatever floats your boat.

I probably should have mentioned this earlier… the pan or dish that you choose to use for the finished product should be greased with real butter, too.  Do this before you begin the process – the science experiment.  I use a 9 x 13 cookie pan that has a 1 inch lip around the edges.  I also have used an 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 baking pan, too.  It all depends on how thick you want your pieces to be at the end.

Pop the dish into the fridge for at least an hour to firm it up.  VOILA!!!  Fudge!

This is how mine sometimes appears… empty platecause that is when my PDQT friend is around the fudge…

3 thoughts on “OH FUDGE!!!

  1. Let me know how it turns out. If you want to use the regular semi-sweet chocolate chips like you use for cookies, then you’ll need 1 1/2 bags. That’s how I end up with the extras for “the jar”. I just might have to make some tomorrow, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

