Facebook? You are no “friend” of mine…

I’m so sick of Facebook. I never was a huge fan of it to begin with but it became a good vehicle to keep people up-to-date on certain “things” that were happening in our lives here in Florida.  Late in December of 2014, I realized that Facebook was the major source of toxicity in my life so I QUIT. I didn’t give it two weeks notice.  I just QUIT.  It’s amazing… with the exception of a few people who are REALLY my friends, I haven’t heard a word from any of my supposed “friends”.  Before you say, “But QoT, what are YOU doing to keep the friendships moving forward?”, let me tell you… I send emails.  I write notes.  I send cards.  I call people on the phone.  I pop in on my friends’ lives.  Now I can hear it… “But YOU have time because you don’t have anybody else in your life.”  Thanks for the reminder. I kinda sorta notice that I am all alone.  The silence is pretty loud.

WHAT brought this rant out of my fingers and onto this page?  Today.  That is what brought it out.  Details aren’t necessary.  But I will say this… I popped my nose onto my Facebook page right before I started writing this and was so disgusted.

Then I decided to search the word, “friend”.  It is so interesting!  Webster has a few sentences about the word.  You know, the basic stuff…”attached to another by affection or esteem”, “one that is not hostile”… HAHAHA… “a favored companion”, etc. etc.

THEN… I looked up the Christian definition of “friend” and there is a WHOLE PAGE with scripture references, too!!!  A WHOLE PAGE!!!  This is the best part:

“Finally, the real definition of a true friend comes from the Apostle Paul: “For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:7-8). “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends” (John 15:13). Now, that is true friendship.”

Now… after this rant… and I sincerely apologize for being so vicious here… I’m just hurting and lonely and wondering where on earth my life is going… but God knows & that’s ALL that matters… another lesson from scripture popped into my head… Matthew 7:3… “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?

Excuse me, my friends & acquaintances & fellow countrymen… I need to go work on that log in my eye… cause it starts with me…

One thought on “Facebook? You are no “friend” of mine…

Leave a Reply

