I have a stinky attitude today…

Waking up on the wrong side of the bed is one way the world puts it when somebody has a stinky attitude.  So, this morning I went back to bed and when I got up for the second time, I tried the other side of the bed.  See… these days I can sleep on either side of the bed, both sides, in the middle, sprawled across the whole mattress (well, not exactly since I’m only 5 feet 4 inches tall) which also means that I can roll out in whatever direction I choose.  I’m in charge of my morning dismounts these days.  It doesn’t make sleeping all alone any better but it shines a ray of goodness into the darker times of my days… except for the times when I am too lazy the night before to put the remote on the nightstand.  Then OUCH!  Try rolling over onto it first thing in the morning.  And sometimes my glasses end up next to me on the mattress… bad idea.  But, once again, I digress…

One of my “best friends” through all of my adult life has been Charles (Chuck) Swindoll.  Not that he would know me by name but I adore this man’s teachings!  He’s REAL.  There is no “do as I say, not as I do” with him.  I have referred to one particular quote of his for a long time when I am in an especially stinky frame of mind.  Today I looked for it and actually found it… amazing how God helps you find what HE wants you to read at the exact time that HE wants you to read it… again I am taking a side trip here in my thinking…

“ATTITUDE” by Charles Swindoll

“The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life.  Attitude, to me, is more important than facts.  It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes.  Than what other people think or say or do.  It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill.  It will make or break a company… a church… a home.  The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day.  We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way.  We cannot change the inevitable.  The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have and that is our attitude… I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.  And so it is with you… we are in charge of our Attitudes!”

Wise man that Chuck Swindoll.  These days I am not in charge of much in my life.  I turned it all over to God as best as I am humanly able.  Hey, I’m just admitting the truth here!  I’m not going to put on this pious front… sometimes I give it to Him and then I take it back which is just ridiculous but that’s another story for another time… But I AM in charge of my stinking attitude.

The buzzer just did its thing on the dryer… I know that at least ONE of you reading this has the exact same buzzer yelling at you today … my PDQT 🙂  So I’m going to go take care of that annoying sound, remind myself to be thankful that I don’t have to lug the dirty wash anywhere (like down by the Indian River or to the laundromat or …) and to change my attitude.  With God’s help, even I can do this.

Thanks Chuck.  You’re THE BEST!!!

3 thoughts on “I have a stinky attitude today…

  1. Attitude is so important in everything we do. We have to trust God to blow our sail in the right direction and stay on board for the ride! Oops buzzer just went.

Leave a Reply

