Friends & the flu… & fudge…

Any of you who have known me for longer than a minute (I might be exaggerating here…) know that I am either EXTREMELY PASSIONATE about an issue or… I have a laissez-faire attitude.  Bing that term if you need an explanation.  Five days of hanging out in bed alone & wondering how to get from the bedroom to the bathroom then to the kitchen and back to the bedroom without any help… glad it’s behind me now.  Pun not intended there.  Behind… bathroom…  Anyhow… it made me think about how blessed I am in this life.  A “certain friend” who shall remain nameless brought nourishment in the form of pudding, Jello and COKE (the bottled kind with a code under the cap)… what she did reminded me of an old Halloween trick.  Put the stuff at the door, ring the bell and run like crazy before you get caught.  The box of Kleenex so kindly left outside the front door reminded me of how “spot on” Gil was when he first noticed that we were going to be living in a “real” neighborhood.  These are just two reminders to me of how wonderful this world truly can be and, in my case, is.

I’ve been dragging this little ditty around forever that makes me think about being a friend to those who have the flu… It’s written by one of my favorite authors, “Anonymous”.

I was hungry and you formed a humanities club to discuss my hunger.  Thank you.

I was imprisoned and you crept off quietly to your chapel to pray for my release.  Nice.

I was naked and in your mind you debated the morality of my appearance.  What good did that do?

I was sick and you knelt and thanked God for your health.  But I needed you.

I was homeless and you preached to me of the shelter of the love of God.  I wish you’d taken me home.

I was lonely and you left me alone to pray for me.  Why didn’t you stay?

You seem so holy, so close to God.  But I’m still very hungry, lonely, cold, and still in pain.  Does it matter?

Yes, it matters.  It matters to others.  But, they can’t read our minds.  We have to ask for pudding and Jello and sometimes Coke just shows up.  We have to ask for tissues.  To have a friend you need to be a friend or so I’ve heard.  Or maybe I read it somewhere.  But part of being a friend means you have to speak up & let your needs be known.  And, as I have been reminded… part of the gift is being a willing & thankful receiver…

About the fudge… it’s not that fattening.  You should have taken it with you.  You know who you are… now I just have to eat it.  That’s what friends do.  They make you fudge..  it was wonderful.  Sorry you missed it… Sometimes fudge just “shows up”… you have been warned, my friend.  You have been warned.  Be afraid.  Be very afraid…

Leave a Reply

